What the blog?

9 Dec

Why blog?  I do it to put my thoughts on paper (so to speak) and now, I’m really not sure that’s enough to keep doing it…

One reason I starting writing this blog many, many posts ago was to connect with people, gain some traction, get some comments, and just maybe even create some sort of community discussion of sorts on a topic of mutual interest.  Little of this has happened with any of my posts, yet I continue to pour out my thoughts to a massive non-listening, disinterested internet public.

Sure, it provides some sense of accomplishment for me when I can say “I blogged today” in answer to “Did you have  a productive day? … but increasingly that’s just not enough.

So in this last month of 2011,  I remember the Einstein adage (apparently while this saying is attributed to him, he didn’t actually say this, but nonetheless):

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

In 2011, I tried different things with this blog:

1. I wrote about a variety of things to see if the results would be different – nope, same (non-)readership.

2. I started posting comments and links on other people’s blogs – no difference in readership or reciprocal links.

3. I promote the posts on Facebook, twitter and LinkedIn – no different result, not a blip of difference.

4. I tried posting my views on a few “controversial” subjects to spur interest, but that made no discernible difference either.

I’m tempted to stop posting altogether, and I suspect the non-readership won’t notice.

If you are reading this, thank you for doing so.  If you take the time to comment, thank you even more.  If you care whether or not I continue writing, please say so, because my ‘invisible’ blog doesn’t give a boost to my productivity.

Maybe I’ve missed the boat altogether and blogging is like life, some people score hits and others aren’t even picked for a team. I’m beginning to think that my writing is mediocre at best (it’s okay to tell me so and save me the ongoing disillusionment!)

Meanwhile, today, in the ignorance of not knowing where I sit in the spectrum and feeling utterly invisible in the blogosphere, I can only mutter to myself, “What the blog?”

Have a great weekend!

Carol

3 Responses to “What the blog?”

  1. Hollis Monday, December 19, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Carol, your writing is great, and you have many valuable things to share. I respectfully suggest that the problem is more global than personal. There are so many blogs, tweets, web sites, Facebook pages, and so on that people simply can’t keep up. We are overwhelmed and outgunned in the virtual world.

    A number of years back we were introduced to the concept of The Attention Economy, which posits that the currency of the modern economy is not “stuff” or “information” (which are plentiful), but “attention” (which is scarce, in part because it is finite). Hence the popularity of brands – creating a reason to buy (more) things when there is no intrinsic need. You are your own unique brand, and I hope you continue to build it. Don’t despair – we’re all swimming in the same soup!

    • Carol Dekkers Wednesday, December 21, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

      Hollis,

      Thank you for your kind remarks, and I appreciate your insights about The Attention Economy. After a length of time where trying many things results in equally fruitless results, I am reminded of my mother’s words that if more than two people (or two events or two anything) come up against you, well, it has to be you.

      Wishing you fruitful endeavors!

      Carol

  2. Bill Ravensberg Tuesday, December 13, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Thanks Carol for opening up to us through your blogs. At times, I thought it was like therapy for you and we were joining you on your journey.

    I understand if you stop blogging and such. I find that there just doesn’t seem to be enough time for doing it myself or with coming up with ideas. And, I also wonder if anyone would read it or care anyway.

    The internet has really created a lot of material with much of it being useless. It seems easier to not spend the time looking for the good morsels in all the garbage which I suspect is much of the contributing factors to your conclusion of “What the blog?”.

    Anyway, thanks for all your sharing eh! Just had to get that ‘eh’ in there for you.

    All the best and a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    Bill

Leave a Reply

