Let’s stop being wasteful – in consumerism and in life!

9 Aug

I’ve had a great summer with more beach time than I can recall in recent years. It’s funny how peaceful and contemplative we can become when we sit still and listen to the repetitive lull of the waves lapping at the shore.

Times at the beach lead my mind to wander and wonder – about all sorts of mundane things… like what’s the point of so much consumption of “new” products when yesterday’s products still work?

Last week when I was in New York City, my daughter and I visited a few clothing consignment shops (formerly called second-hand stores) and I realized just how much greener our society could become if we all decided to reuse, recycle, and restore.  It was amazing how good were the clothes as the shops showcased next-to-new clothing, gently worn, at a fraction of the original price!  Some of the pieces still had the tags on them!  Why do we keep churning out miles and miles of new textiles when the ones already fashioned are still wearable?

As I was thinking, it occurred to me that another “wasteland” is in our heads… Have you noticed lately how people love to plant “waste” in your psyche with negativity the minute you mention something good has happened?  I have “friends” who chide me about wearing fashionable black nail polish that I love (“you’re not really wearing that color to work are you? That’s not professional!”) or who project jealousy through my clothing choices (“I don’t think your shirt really looks all that good with that skirt”) or who can’t wait to disparage a new interesting person in my life (“why would he like YOU?”).  When you stop to consider what  a waste of time and energy it is to: 1. listen to them at all; and 2. to allow their negative waste to invade your good day!

My new “recycling campaign” is to repeat and reinforce positive ideas in my head so that I can spread GOOD cheer and not “fertilizer” (aka waste).  I would be ashamed to say the things some people say to me!

Today, more than ever, we need to sustain and nurture our spirits with environmentally friendly thoughts and actions – why not plant seeds of positivism and recycle good words to others today?

Have a great week!

Carol

4 Responses to “Let’s stop being wasteful – in consumerism and in life!”

  1. Bill Ravensberg Wednesday, August 10, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Great post Carol!

    I can vouch for the great value in these “second hand shops”. My wife has found some great and sometimes new (with tags) golf shirts for $3 to $5 that are $50 or more in the stores. I appreciate them regardless of what store they came from.

    And, I can also appreciate the peacefulness of the beach even though I am here in Canada eh! But then it’s easy for me being a guy and able to go to that nothingness in my mind state. 😉

    Continue to enjoy the beach and the bargains!

    Bill

    • Carol Dekkers Thursday, August 11, 2011 at 2:09 am #

      Bill,

      I always appreciate that you read my blog posts! I hope that your golfing season up in Ontario goes well into October/November! Enjoy the late sunsets and the holes-in-one!

      Carol

  2. Ann-Louise Tuesday, August 9, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    My thoughts exactly. Again 🙂

    • Carol Dekkers Tuesday, August 9, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      Thank you for your comment Ann-Louise! It’s interesting how our views can be the same even though you are in Finland and I am in the USA. 🙂

Leave a Reply

