Books, books, and more books…

25 Apr

Are you like me and love books?

I didn’t realize how many books I owned until I started to clean out my bookshelves because I anticipate a move later this year.  So far, I’ve donated over 100 hardcover books to Friends of the Library (a non-profit resale endeavor) and have another 100 ready to go.  And I won’t be finished donating even then (and I’ll still have at least as many books on my shelves!)

I have always loved books.

There is something special about turning high quality pages that a Kindle just cannot capture.  Most commonly, my books are positive and forward thinking books non-fiction, and as I take each one down from its shelf and consider whether to keep it or donate it, I often remember where and when I purchased it.

For some of the books, the keep or give decision is easy – my grown children outgrew my need for parenting books. For others, the decision is not so easy – such as the books on gardening that I haven’t cracked open for years, but which topic remains an interest.  Cookbooks are similar – I used to love cooking, but my interests waned for a number of reasons, and now that I live a single life, I don’t find joy in cooking solo (aside from the fact that recipes are often for larger quantities than one.)

Did you know that close to a million books are published annually by the top 10 book writing nations? 

The USA is first, followed by England, each with over 250,000 books published yearly. That’s a lot of original thought and intellectual capital being expended every year!  And for me, it only takes a few well written words to convince me that there are new ideas everyday!

Books have been a faithful companion on my life’s journey.  Unlike the internet, where anyone with a mouse can add their opinion everywhere, authors take care to craft their message for their audience.  And on more than one occasion, I have wondered just how an author could have known my life because their messages felt like they especially crafted for me.  Melody Beattie, Patricia Evans, Cheri Huber, don Miguel Ruiz and others were such authors for me.  Shared experiences reassure me that my perceptions and ideas are as sound as I know they are!

What is your experience with books?  Do you like reading online (such as with a Kindle) or do you prefer the old-fashioned low-tech books?  What would your life be like without books?

Have a good week!

Carol

Share
//

2 Responses to “Books, books, and more books…”

  1. JP Monday, April 25, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    Hi Carrol,

    Less common in US but more in our old Europe: the experience of veru old book. Holding a book that has already been owned and read since two or three centuries is a great feeling. Taking time to decipher the archaic language and understand it with our modern words is a great pleasure… How old is the oldest book of your shelves?

    • Carol Dekkers Friday, April 29, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

      JP,

      My books are all modern day books -most less than 10-15 years old. I can only imagine books that are older than I am… it is simply not a regular occurrence in North America.

      Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

