Post-a-week for 2011

31 Dec

WordPress has launched a challenge to keep all of us “bloggers” posting more often and as one of my end-of-year 2010 resolutions I’m committed to joining the Post-a-Week for 2011.  (At least one new posting every week!)

One of the most challenging aspects of blogging for me is to decide what topics to write about, and how to express my thoughts in a coherent way that will keep readers interested.  One of my goals for 2011 is to simplify my life by getting rid of things I no longer need, streamlining my bookshelves, and setting a new direction of optimism with positive thoughts and surrounding myself with positive people and relationships.

Sunset in Istanbul

Sunset in Istanbul

2010 was a tough year

filled with financial challenges, ghosts from past relationships, negative influences, family stresses (with a few scary moments), friendships that dissolved (or were not good for me), work that disappeared (more than 10 weeks) , and promises by various parties that never materialized (both work and personal).  And somehow I survived through it all…

2010 was also a good  year

in many other ways with new friendships (hurrah for positive people who grace my life!), self-growth (and increased self-love), expanding career opportunities (not yet profitable), increased respect from project management experts (and peers!), an international award (Thank you BFPUG), foreign travel (US Virgin Islands, Montreal, Japan, Brazil, Turkey, Denmark, and throughout the US), love from my children (they are my grounding), and new keynote speaking experiences (International Function Point Users Group, International Project Management Association, Danish Technology, and others).

2011 will be stellar

2011 will be Stellar!

2011 will be a stellar year (along the lines of a self-fulfilling prophecy)

and I hope you’ll be along for the journey with me.  I know that I’ll still face challenges (doesn’t everyone?) and I am optimistic that they will fade into the background with the light of an increase in positive relationships, new friendships, love, career success, health and happiness with my children and friends.

Thank you for reading in 2010 – and PLEASE comment (otherwise it feels like a sea of empty chairs I’m talking to) — it’s important to know what you think, even if you don’t agree!

Wishing all of you a happy, healthy, love-filled, positive, and prosperous 2011… and a safe New Years Eve!

Carol

Share

5 Responses to “Post-a-week for 2011”

  1. Bill Ravensberg Tuesday, January 4, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    All the best Carol in 2011 and with weekly blogging.

    I’ll understand if you miss a week or two due to vacation / down time. I hope WordPress understands vacation / down time!

    • Carol Dekkers Tuesday, January 4, 2011 at 10:29 am #

      Bill,

      Thank you for your comment. Wishing you a happy, healthy, and warm 2011 with many good golfing moments in the GWN!

      Carol

      • Bill Ravensberg Tuesday, January 4, 2011 at 10:32 am #

        Ahhh … Golf … That is just a dream right now here in the GWN. Hopefully, we will be able to get an early start this year!

  2. JP Friday, December 31, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    Have a great year of posting in 2011 ! It is a serious task to post every week something relevant and well-written. You’re making a good job, continue !

    2010 was a difficult year for many. I’m glad that you did survive all your difficulties and kept the best.

    I’ll keep reading you in 2011 and I wish you thousands of comments.

    Bisous from France !

    • Carol Dekkers Saturday, January 1, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

      JP,

      Wishing you a great year as well and hope it brings you many moments that take your breath away with joy!

      Carol

Leave a Reply

