Should I stay or should I go?

7 Dec

Today marks the 100th post

on this blog over the past 2 years… and as people typically do when there is a landmark, I feel like celebrating in some small way.

But, before I do, I’d like to ask you to venture back with me, about where The Dekkers Report started, where it’s going, and whether it is even worthwhile to continue.  I started writing to have a dialogue with you – readers known and unknown – about current affairs (things like Technology Barbie, Bullying, etc.), and to express my thoughts (and elicit comments) about  everyday life happenings.  From my writer perspective, the blog has done that – I know that I’ve meandered through a variety of topics and ideas and thoughts, but I don’t have a real sense on whether it really has connected with any of you.  (Is this the curtain call?)

Evanescence - The Open DoorI thank you for the various comments I’ve received over the 2 years, they have kept me writing when, at times, I’ve felt that I had nothing real or worthwhile to share.  Your responses and comments have been valuable and insightful – I appreciate them all.  So, having done 100 posts, I’m at a crossroads. Readership is small (that can be a good thing) and growing ever so slowly (a writer needs to increase readership!) I could continue to use creative energy to keep penning my thoughts a couple of times a week, or I could funnel it into something else and chalk it all up to an experiment in blogging.

So, I’m going to put it out to you:  what do you think – should I stay or should I go? Do you get anything out of my posts?  Can you think of any compelling reason that I should continue with The Dekkers Report?  Or should I pack it in and spend my energy elsewhere?  Are there any topics that are (or have been) worthwhile to you?

If no comments come back on this post, then the writing is on the wall and the masses will have spoken with resounding silence…

Here in Florida our temperatures are dipping down into the teens (F) tonight so it’s a chilly week here in the “Tropics”… stay warm and healthy wherever you are!  I’m going to celebrate with a spiced latte.

Carol

Share

5 Responses to “Should I stay or should I go?”

  1. Steve Chizar Wednesday, December 8, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    I want you to continue as this is the only way I keep in contact with you. With me retiring on the 31st of December, chances are slim we may never see each other again so I appreciate hearing from you. So I say continue, but I know you’ll do what your heart says to do.

  2. majaf Wednesday, December 8, 2010 at 4:03 am #

    Hi Carol, I enjoy reading your blog and if you decide to continue writing I will keep on reading.
    Regards, Maja
    (we met at the ICEC & IPMA Global Congress in Ljubljana, Slovenia in 2006)

  3. Siraj Sirajuddin Tuesday, December 7, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    STAY!

  4. Rebecca Staton-Reinstein Tuesday, December 7, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Keep blogging, Carol. No need to stop. You never know where this stuff ends up and who will be positively affected by it. (Plus there’s a practical reason — search engines love blogs.) Seriously, you always have an interesting perspective.

  5. JP Tuesday, December 7, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    From France: YOU SHOULD KEEP ON !

    I know how difficult is to continue writing again and again… But definitely, I appreciate your posts.

    For this 100th post… CHAMPAGNE !!!!

Leave a Reply

