So many reasons to be thankful

25 Nov

It’s interesting how we typically need a special occasion (like Thanksgiving) to realize how grateful we are (or can be) for the little things in our lives.  And, then when we do, it might be trivialized because of high visibility and self-consciousness of the occasion (such as at a big Thanksgiving family gathering!)

So…. here’s my short list of 50 things I am eternally grateful to have in my life:

1. Health

2. Healthy grown children

3. Unconditional love from same grown children

4. Ability to see the positive when life throws you lemons

5. Ability to feel what I do without having to stuff it (divorce is a wonderful thing!)

6. Friends who truly care

7. Acquaintances who might turn into friends someday

8. “Friends” who don’t care (they teach me the value of #6!)

9. A promising emerging (still) career

10. Invitations to speak (present) around the world

11. Unconditional love from the Royal We (me, myself and I)

12. Friends/acquaintances around the world

13. Self-esteem (and the new understanding that you can never have too much)

14. Pets (and the spirits of those who have gone before)

15. Parents who are still alive

16. Family members with their own families

17. Ability to see the humor in things (SNL situations abound)

18. Tampa FL weather

19. A house (even over-mortgaged)

20. Promises to myself

21. Inspiring writers (like my daughter!)

22. Uninspiring writers (who make #21 more relevant)

23. Sense of adventure

24. Youthful outlook on life

25. Freedom to associate/speak/disassociate

26. Freedom to do what, when and where as I choose

27. Incredible shoes (with more space in my closet)

28. Receptivity of foreign audiences to listen to me in English (when it is my only fluent language) when it is not their first language

29. Travel and the opportunities to do so

30. Nature

31. Wonder of life all around me

32. Ability to forgive myself

33. Ability to forgive others (when warranted)

34. People in my life who are willing to forgive me

35. Foresight to (hopefully) learn from past mistakes

36. Good humor to laugh at the past

37. Optimism

38. Good craft breweries around the world

39. Food and friends and fun (at the same time)

40. Florida weather (again and again)

41. Enough money (and work) to pay my mortgage

42. Simple needs

43. Smiles from strangers

44. Empathy and understanding (both giving and receiving – often different people are involved)

45. A future (and a vision that draws me to a achieve an incredible one!)

46. The ability to cut toxicity from my life (this is a new-found skill – I was a hoarder before!!!)

47. The present (in whatever time zone) – it’s a gift we give to ourselves

48. Being short on airplanes (so I don’t need first class always!)

49. So many things for which to express thanks

50. The past (so that I can learn from it, remember the good times, and smile at life’s nuances)

Wishing you a life filled with everything you want, desire and deserve – in other words the best of the best!

Carol

Share

4 Responses to “So many reasons to be thankful”

  1. Steve Chizar Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    I guess it depends on the perspective you have. I would like to have your life of travel, instead of the get up, go to work, come home, eat dinner, go to bed, repeat ad nauseum. I have only married once and at times I wonder what I did wrong when I hear about all the divorces. Especially with some people on their third or even fourth marriage! I would like to have celebrity in my field of endeavor like you have in yours instead of just being a nameless contributor. I realize you earned that through sacrifice and hard work, so don’t think I begrudge you for that. So now I am retiring at the end of the year and when I look back, I don’t really see any kind of accomplishment. I have done good things, but not recognized by anyone. So I look at what you have done and think that is pretty exciting. But like location in real estate, perspective is everything!

    • Carol Dekkers Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      Steve, thanks for your comment! It’s always nice to get your response!

      The important thing (IMHO) is that we each are grateful for what we have in our own life because as you imply – the grass is always greener. You have a long marriage (you are fortunate to have found a keeper!), stable career with steady income (there’s a lot to be said for that!), and we always seek more! I think you’ve got a pretty good life there! For me, I’m fortunate for many things (more than the 50 on the list) and yet I do seek more.

      Have a great week!

      p.s., Now that you’ll be retired you’ll have time to travel and seek notoriety!

      Carol

  2. Corinne Monday, November 29, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    I am so thankful for you!

    • Carol Dekkers Tuesday, November 30, 2010 at 12:34 am #

      Thank you for saying so. I miss you!

Leave a Reply

