Forget Eat, Pray, Love… for me it’s Speak, Earn, Travel!

4 Oct

While I understand the allure of the newly released movie Eat, Pray, Love and the author’s quest  to find herself after a painful divorce, I just do not identify with it.

Personally, I have never been enamored by food (I would rather shop than eat), praying is simply a spiritual way of being (which I already feel good about), and love – well, I am a believer that happiness comes not from external love, but from within via the “Royal We” (me, myself and I).

JapanIf I were to write a book about my happiness journey – I’d call it:  Speak, Earn, Travel.  This sums up my vision of a perfect life.

SPEAK: Delivering keynote speeches that Demystify Technology for non-technical audiences is what I do best.

EARN: I want to earn a lot of money to enable me to share it with others to make their lives better. 

TRAVEL: Travel to spread the word that life is good, visit countries I haven’t yet seen and visit my friends who live all over the world.

This is MY dream, and I’m living it today!

To some, this may seem lofty and independent — especially since it doesn’t involve anyone else to do these things. And, that’s the key! Happiness in life does NOT depend on anyone else.  Happiness comes from being happy with yourself and being able to choose whether and with whom you share your time, energy, talents, money and person.  It is a joyous thing to discover this – and to let go of the “need” for other people in our own happiness journey.

I have a Coffee-Mug cup that says (in a nutshell) –

“Happiness is the journey – not the destination”

And, for many years I didn’t understand this. It is refreshing to discover that the “Royal We” (me, myself, and I) are the only beings I ever need to please.  What an awesome thing !  After a lifetime of suffering by trying (and predictably failing) to please other people, all I need to do is please myself.

Have you seen the saying?

“Don’t worry about the people in your past. There’s a reason they didn’t make it to your future”

I certainly thank the narcissists in my past (who convinced me that it was their acceptance that was important) – they were instrumental in pushing me to find my way.  The emotional health and happiness I now enjoy is directly related to realizing how important my acceptance always was – not theirs.

Speak, Earn, Travel – these are my goals and my mantras!

What are the three words that spell out happiness in your life?

Wishing you a happy, healthy week!

Carol

Share

One Response to “Forget Eat, Pray, Love… for me it’s Speak, Earn, Travel!”

  1. bet365 italia Tuesday, October 5, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    hello!This was a really fine topic!
    I come from milan, I was luck to seek your blog in digg
    Also I obtain much in your website really thanks very much i will come later

Leave a Reply

