ISO… Quality

23 Sep

Everywhere I go in the world, it seems to be the same… everyone is ISO (in search of) something or someone who will bring more happiness into our lives.  We run, follow, read, study and take steps to improve ourselves and our lives with the hopes of attaining the elusive “happiness”.

Bookstores are jammed with self-help books promising shortcuts, secrets and pathways to happiness, each with its own different slant on the proverbial “change your attitude, change your life” adage.  I think that the premise is misguided and I agree with the saying (on one of my coffee cups no less): Happiness is the journey not the destination.

I don’t know about you, but a one-size-fits-all method or approach to happiness just doesn’t work for me — I believe that the secret to a happy life is different for each of us.  Do you agree that happiness is an individual state of being?

More and more, I am discovering that happiness is a relative state of mind that begins and ends with the “royal we”: me, myself, and I and knowing what makes up happiness.  What makes YOU happy?

Today I am happier than I’ve been in years, and I have a short list to reach an even higher state of happiness. For me, it is all a matter of increased quality in the things I already have in my life:

1. Better client contracts (with committed clients),

2. A few more high calibre, high quality friends,

3. More affordable living arrangements,

4. More opportunities to travel with friends.

Here’s where I believe the intent and positive attitudes in life fit in – the more that we demand higher quality in any aspect of our life, the higher quality we will achieve.  In the process of moving from accepting low quality (in terms of clients, contracts, friends and any aspect of our lives) to high quality – we might sacrifice short-term gain (money, opportunities) for long-term success (consistently higher quality of life).

What do you think?  I know that the higher I set my goals in terms of “quality” the better the results tend to be. Accepting low quality results along the way takes up space and gets in the way of high quality opportunities.

Have a high quality week!

Carol

Share/Bookmark

3 Responses to “ISO… Quality”

  1. branchenverzeichnis online Sunday, October 24, 2010 at 3:25 am #

    What a nice post. I really love reading these types or articles. I can?t wait to see what others have to say.

  2. Carol Dekkers Friday, September 24, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    A great quote came in to my email in-basket today related to this post…

    “If only we’d stop trying to be happy we’d have a pretty good time.” Edith Wharton

    • Steve Chizar Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 10:37 am #

      I must be having a great time, then…..lololol

Leave a Reply

