The Gore’y details… I don’t need to know

7 Jun

While I profess to be no better than anyone else when it comes to paparazzi sightings (I admit to reading the headlines in the “rag mags” at the grocery checkout), it amazes me just how intrusive we, as a society, can be when it comes to the private lives of others.  Case in point this week – the pending divorce of Al and Tipper Gore.

Speaking from experience, this may be the absolutely best thing to happen to the Gores once they get past the grief associated with the death of their long-term marriage.

GoresIt is said that women marry men with the hope that they will change – and they don’t. Men marry women with the hope I that they won’t change – and they do!

I wish the Gores a happy rest of their lives, and I hope that the American public will leave them alone, but I suspect that we won’t!

While couplehood was once my norm (also for many years), it is refreshing to live a life of my design!  I can’t tell you how good it feels to bring home a new pair of black pumps and show them my pets without anticipating anything but a neutral reaction.  I now know that the unpredictability of my spouse’s remarks (ranging from “Another pair of black shoes?  You already have 2 pairs of black shoes…”  to “Okay… (whatever)” – was not how every married couple interacts. But, I do prefer a guaranteed neutral reaction to the randomness of my ex’s response.  In fairness to the general population, I know that many people profess to be (and probably are) happy in a couple relationship, while still more others are happily single. Whichever one you choose is completely up to you – and no one needs to justify their choice!

Happiness is not the destination, it is the journey, and whatever path you choose in life that makes you happy is the best possible path for you.

I applaud the Gores for taking a brave and courageous step despite public opinion that they stay together, and I wish them Godspeed in their separate lives.  As far as the details of their current breakup – I don’t want to know! Sure they were a public couple and will always be public people, but jeepers creepers, I hope they can transition without public scrutiny. What do you think?

Wishing you a happy and prosperous week!

Regards,
Carol

Carol Dekkers, Software Measurement and Global Software Development expert, author, speaker. Want to engage Carol to be a speaker at your next event? Email Ms. Dekkers at dekkers@qualityplustech.com or carol@caroldekkers.com or visit http://www.caroldekkers.com for details.

Copyright Carol Dekkers 2010

Leave a Reply

